Tuesday, September 22, 2015

New Members Appointed to BVI International Arbitration Centre Board

The BVI FSC released information about the appointments of five inaugural members for the BVI International Arbitration Centre Board. The BVI International Arbitration Centre was established with the purpose to provide full-service support and facilities for arbitration and mediation proceedings. The first board members were appointed by the Cabinet of the British Virgin Islands on September 7; the newly appointed members are Mr. John Beechey, who became the Chairman of the Board, Mr. Mark Forte, Mr. Cherno Jallow, QC, Mr. Murray Smith and Ms. Felice Swapp.

Mr. John Beechey is an independent arbitrator, who was President of the ICC International Court of Arbitration from 2009 until June, 2015. Mr. Mark Forte is a Partner and Head of Litigation & Restructuring in the British Virgin Islands (BVI) office of Conyers Dill & Pearman. Mr. Cherno Jallow is the Director of Policy, Research and Statistics at the BVI Financial Services Commission. Mr. Murray Smith is a chartered arbitrator having extensive experience in commercial arbitration. Ms. Felice Swapp is the Chief Operating Officer of Harney’s.

No comments: