Tuesday, January 03, 2017

BVI on the List of Countries for AEOI Consultations with Switzerland

British Virgin Islands is included in the list of the countries with which the Swiss Federal Department of Finance has launched a consultation on the introduction of the automatic exchange of information in tax matters (AEOI). The consultation will be held until March 15, 2017, and the AEOI for the listed countries is expected to enter into force on January 1, 2018, with first exchanges to start in 2019.

According to the Federal Department of Finance, the introduction of the AEOI with the new countries will confirm international commitment of Switzerland to implement the AEOI standards. 

The FDF said that these countries, which along with the BVI include Andorra, Argentina, Barbados, Bermuda, Brazil, the Cayman Islands, Chile, India, Israel, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, the Seychelles, and some others, adhere to the principle of speciality and implement appropriate measures to safeguard the confidentiality of the data exchanged.

In 2017, Switzerland will introduce the AEOI with EU member states, Australia, Iceland, Norway, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Jersey, Guernsey, and the Isle of Man.

No comments: