Friday, October 14, 2011

UK Overseas Territories Attorneys General Conference being Held in Cayman Islands

This week, the 20th annual conference was opened in the Cayman Islands, where meet attorneys general from British Overseas Territories, including British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos, Pitcairn and the Cayman Islands. Attorneys general from Bermuda, the South Atlantic Territories of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Falkland Islands and Gibraltar are not present at the meeting.

During the conference, the attorneys general discuss the important issues for their countries with the solicitor general for England and Wales and MP, Edward Garnier, QC, who is the conference chairman, and other officials from the UK, and the Justice Departments of the US and Canada.

Garnier said that in July the National Security Council of the UK government had confirmed the UK's fundamental policy and objective to ensure the security and good governance of the 14 Overseas Territories of the United Kingdom. He also acknowledged the special challenges that attorneys general face in their everyday work, and recognised that the British Dependent territories are very diverse, requiring specifically tailored policies.

Garnier said that, despite the constitutional arrangements between the UK and the Overseas Territories, they should jointly work to improve the link, strengthen mutual ties, good governance and financial management as well as the quality and range of support to the OTs.

No comments: